Skip navigation

A little = 25 words or less

–Black Mountain – In The Future
You’re not allowed to follow up a 16 minute song with a four minute drone. Regardless, some good grooves and a stoner sound work out.

–British Sea Power – Do You Like Rock Music?
I do. This is only barely rock music, though. It’s good power pop, but “The Decline and Fall of” still stands tall above their work.

–Constantines – Kensington Heights
Apparently, “Soon Enough” did really well for them, because this is like an album of that. Come back, Constantines! We need rock spirit, not this!

–Fleet Foxes – Self titled
In the running for my second favorite album this year. It sounds like how Panda Bear was sold to me, but then it’s not boring.

–Gnarls Barkley – The Odd Couple
Imagine going down lots of stairs. It’s like that, by the end. Good to know it’s actually a band, though, and not just one album.

–Hercules and Love Affair – Self titled
I cannot make it past the first song without feeling nauseous. Like the evil clone of LCD Soundsystem.

–The Mars Volta – The Bedlam in Goliath
New drummer exists to annoy me. Cedric’s best album with the band: says things human beings say. They raped Rapid Fire Tollbooth into being Goliath.

–Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!
I should like it, but I feel like I’m missing something. I’ve always felt that way with his stuff. Title track is really fun.

–Nine Inch Nails – Ghosts I-IV
I support the distribution method. That’s why I bought this, and the Saul Williams record. Both fail to grab me, but my dollar has spoken.

–Nine Inch Nails – The Slip
Fails to annoy me. Seriously, it’s the first NIN album I’ve enjoyed start to finish. Logical follow up to Ghosts I-IV. Lyrics are still heavy-handed.

–No Age – Nouns
No Age and HEALTH seem to me like attacks on modern California from within. HEALTH is the chest burster, but No Age is the facehugger.

–Omar Rodriguez-Lopez – Calibration (Is Pushing Luck And Key Too Far)
Also competing for #2. The most interesting Omar’s work has ever been to me. I have no idea what goes so wrong with Mars Volta.

–Opeth – Watershed
Also competing for #2. Fucking weird album. I love it, but that’s not good news for Opeth fans. The funk organ solo is super ballsy.

–Spiritualized – Songs in A&E
Still working my way through it. Not sure what I think.

–Vampire Weekend – self titled
Definite #1. Sinks its hooks in early, and doesn’t let go. Very punk and very reggae. I recommend this album above all others this year.

–Wolf Parade – At Mount Zoomer
Super disappointing. Lacks everything I liked about Apologies to the Queen Mary. Guitars are overwhelming, drums are simple, keyboards are simpler. Needs that frantic energy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

